The U.S. Consumer Product Safety Commission said on September 3 that Branch Furniture is recalling about 16,000 ergonomic office chairs in the United States, plus roughly 180 more in Canada, because their backrests can detach while someone is sitting in the chair. The company has received 11 reports of backrests snapping off, though no injuries have been reported so far, according to the recall notice.
CPSC describes the hazard in blunt terms: “the backrests of the chairs can detach while in use, posing a fall hazard to consumers.” A backrest failure most commonly happens when someone leans back or shifts their weight against the top of the chair, the exact motion an ergonomic office chair is designed to support through the workday rather than discourage. The recalled chairs are height-adjustable, ergonomic models sold in 16 color combinations, including black-on-black, pebble-and-white and sand-and-white finishes, manufactured in Thailand for Bureau Office, Inc., the New York City company that does business as Branch.
A manufacturing defect, not a design flaw
The recall traces to a specific production problem rather than a flaw in every chair Branch has ever sold. CPSC’s recall notice and independent recall coverage both attribute the detachments to incorrectly installed backrest anchors during manufacturing, affecting units built between September 10, 2025, and April 22, 2026. Chairs made outside that eight-month window are not part of the recall, which is why Branch is asking owners to check a manufacture date printed on a label under the seat cushion rather than assuming every chair the company has sold is affected.
That narrower scope also shapes the remedy. Rather than a refund or a full chair replacement, Branch is shipping affected owners a free repair kit containing a replacement backrest, installation instructions, three mounting bolts and an Allen key. Owners can request one by contacting [email protected] or visiting branchfurniture.com/recall, though the company requires photographs of both the manufacture date label and the detached or removed backrest before it will send a kit, a verification step meant to confirm a chair falls inside the affected production run before parts go out.
Sold widely through both Branch and major retailers
The recalled chairs were not confined to Branch’s own website. CPSC’s notice lists sales from December 2025 through July 2026 at BranchFurniture.com, Amazon.com, West Elm, Container Store and Office Depot, at prices between $320 and $350, a retail footprint that put the chairs in front of a much broader customer base than a single direct-to-consumer storefront would reach on its own. Branch markets itself, according to coverage of the recall, as a maker of home-office and hybrid-work furniture, and its chairs are among the more visible products in that category sold through big-box and department retailers rather than office-supply wholesalers alone.
Office chairs sold in the United States are generally expected to meet ANSI/BIFMA X5.1, an industry standard maintained by the American National Standards Institute and the Business and Institutional Furniture Manufacturers Association that requires backrests to survive both a functional load test and a separate, higher proof-load test, then hold up through roughly 120,000 cycles of repeated rocking meant to simulate about a decade of daily office use. The standard is voluntary rather than a CPSC mandatory rule, so a chair can reach the market without independent testing against it, and CPSC’s recall notice does not state whether the affected Branch chairs were tested to that standard before the anchor-installation error occurred during production.
Eleven reports, zero injuries so far
The gap between 11 reported incidents and zero reported injuries is doing real work in how CPSC and Branch have handled this recall. A hazard that had already caused documented injuries would typically come with a more urgent instruction, such as telling owners to stop using the product immediately or halting sales of the entire line rather than a single production run. Instead, CPSC’s classification allows for a graduated response: continue using the chair if its manufacture date falls outside the affected eight-month window, or stop using it and request a repair kit if it falls inside. That distinction only works if owners actually check the label under the seat cushion, which is why both CPSC’s notice and Branch’s own recall page walk through where to find the manufacture date step by step rather than assuming customers already know where to look.
The law firm Johnson // Becker, which tracks product-liability cases, says it is accepting inquiries from consumers who say they were hurt by the recalled chairs, though it has not disclosed specifics of any pending claim. Whether that signals injuries CPSC has not yet logged in its own count, or simply routine case-intake activity that follows any recall announcement, is not something either the law firm’s website or CPSC’s notice resolves.
This article was produced with the assistance of AI and reviewed by Morning Overview editors prior to publication.
More from Morning Overview
- Supplements now rank as the fifth-leading cause of death from liver disease.
- Herbal supplements are landing Americans in the hospital with liver damage, doctors warn
- General Motors is switching on cameras that record inside your vehicle by update
- A geomagnetic storm is forecast to hit Earth today, pushing the northern lights unusually far south