Skip to main content

Morning Overview

The sticker telling owners how much air to put in 75 Forest River RVs is wrong

Forest River has recalled 75 recreational vehicles because the tire inflation figure printed on their federal certification placard may be wrong. The filing, numbered 26V646000, covers 2026-2027 Sunseeker, Solera and Forester models, and it warns of a direct consequence: an owner who trusts the label can put too much air in the tires. In the words of the recall record, “A tire can be overinflated after referencing the incorrect information, increasing the risk of a crash.”

Which Forest River models carry the bad placard

The vehicle list in the filing names three product lines: Sunseeker, Solera and Forester, all from model years 2026 and 2027. Seventy-five units is a small population by the standards of automotive recalls, which often run into the hundreds of thousands. A narrow count usually points to a single production run or a single labeling error rather than a design flaw spread across a whole platform. The record available for this report does not say how the error arose, so that explanation remains an inference, not a finding.

The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s public database lists the number of potentially affected vehicles as 75, and the defect summary reads simply “Federal placard may list incorrect tire inflation.” The Sunseeker, Solera and Forester lines are motorhome and recreational vehicle lines built by Forest River, Inc., a manufacturer that describes itself as North America’s leading maker of RVs, cargo trailers, pontoon boats, buses, vans and trucks.

What the certification placard is supposed to do

The placard in question is the Tire and Loading Information Label, the sticker that federal rules require on a new vehicle so owners know what pressure to run. NHTSA’s guidance says that on new vehicles the label is found on the driver’s side doorjamb, and that pressures appear in both kilopascals and pounds per square inch.

The agency is blunt about where owners should look. NHTSA’s tire safety guidance says the right pressure is whatever the vehicle manufacturer has listed, and not the figure molded into the tire itself. That instruction is sensible for nearly every vehicle on the road, and it is exactly what makes a mislabeled placard dangerous. A careful owner who does everything the agency recommends, and checks pressure with a gauge when the tires are cold, still ends up at the wrong number. The same guidance tells owners to measure pressure only after a vehicle has sat for at least three hours, and to fill a warm tire to the cold pressure printed on the placard if topping off becomes necessary.

Why overinflation matters on a loaded RV

Most public warnings about tire pressure focus on too little air, and NHTSA’s page does the same: it says poor maintenance, including not having enough air, can lead to a flat tire, a blowout or tread separation. That page does not discuss overinflation, so the risk described here rests on the recall filing itself, which ties the wrong figure to “an increased risk of a crash.” An RV adds a wrinkle that a passenger car does not. Its weight changes with water, fuel, propane and cargo, and the tires carry a heavy vehicle over long distances, often at highway speed in summer heat. Owners who follow a placard to the letter have little reason to second-guess it, since the label is the manufacturer’s own statement of the correct number.

The filing does not state what the correct pressures are, and this report does not guess at them. Until the manufacturer publishes corrected figures or applies a replacement label, the practical question for an affected owner is which source to trust, and that is a question for the dealer or the manufacturer, not for a gauge.

Even so, the stakes for each affected owner are not small. A motorhome is among the heaviest things a private individual drives, and its tires work close to their limits whenever the vehicle is loaded for a trip. A wrong number on the label carries more weight there than on a sedan, because owners of such vehicles tend to rely on the placard rather than on rules of thumb, and because they often travel far from a dealer who could catch the mistake. Fleet and rental operators who bought these models would face the same issue across several units at once.

How owners find out whether a unit is covered

The filing lists December 4, 2026 as the owner notification date, which means letters are not due to reach buyers until about two months after the October 5 date attached to the record. Owners who do not want to wait for mail can check now. NHTSA runs a VIN lookup tool that returns recall information supplied by the manufacturer, and the agency notes that a search will not show recalls that have already been repaired or some new recalls whose vehicle identification numbers are still being compiled, so it advises checking again regularly.

Forest River also runs its own recall search page, which is the second place to look for a Sunseeker, Solera or Forester built for the 2026 or 2027 model year.

Under federal law the remedy for a recall is free to the owner. NHTSA’s recall page says manufacturers must fix a defect by repairing it, replacing it or offering a refund, and that owners should contact a local dealership to have the work done at no cost. In practice, a placard error of this kind would most plausibly be fixed with a corrected label, though the record read for this report does not specify the remedy.

This article was produced with the assistance of AI and reviewed by Morning Overview editors prior to publication.


More from Morning Overview


Morning Overview is reader-supported. Some links in our articles are affiliate links, and we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Full disclosure.