The 2027 Lexus TZ, the brand’s first fully electric three-row SUV, starts at $64,050 in the United States, and its longest-range version is rated at up to 315 miles on a charge. Those two numbers belong to different trims: the $64,050 entry model is rated at up to 253 miles, while the 315-mile Premium Touring costs $72,050. Lexus lists three versions in all, each with dual-motor all-wheel drive.
Save more, waste less: The Cool Down’s newsletter sends smart, simple changes that help you and the planet in your everyday life.
We may earn a commission if you sign up.
The prices include a $1,550 delivery fee, and dealer pricing will vary. For buyers weighing a large electric SUV, the spread between the trims is as important as the advertised starting price.
Three Trims, Three Different Range Numbers
According to Lexus’s TZ model page, the 450e Premium AWD starts at $64,050 with up to 253 miles of range and a 76.96 kWh battery, arriving in late 2026. The 450e Premium Touring AWD costs $72,050, uses a 95.82 kWh battery and is rated at up to 315 miles, with availability in early 2027. The top 450e Luxury AWD costs $80,550, also carries the 95.82 kWh pack, and is rated at up to 279 miles, again arriving in early 2027.
The Luxury trim’s shorter range despite the same battery is the detail that most deserves attention. Electrek’s report on the pricing notes that the Touring and Luxury both use the larger pack yet list different range figures, and the Lexus page does not explain the gap in the material reviewed. Wheel size is one possible factor, and AutoGuide’s pricing roundup lists 20-inch wheels for the Touring and 22-inch wheels for the Luxury, but neither source ties the two facts together.
The step from one trim to the next is large. Moving from the Premium to the Premium Touring adds $8,000 and 62 miles of rated range, because it adds the bigger pack, while moving on to the Luxury adds another $8,500 and loses 36 miles of that range. A shopper whose priority is distance would therefore stop at the middle trim, and the top trim is for buyers paying for equipment rather than miles.
Motors, Charging and the Port
All three trims share the same powertrain: an evolved DIRECT4 all-wheel-drive system with two motors producing 308 horsepower combined. That is well below the 402 horsepower AutoGuide says was initially expected for the dual-motor TZ450e. Lexus’s model page says a dealer-installed Performance Upgrade for the Luxury trim raises output to 402 horsepower, and lists it as arriving in 2027.
On charging, Electrek’s report says the TZ can recharge from 10 percent to 80 percent in about 35 minutes at up to 150 kilowatts, and that it has a North American Charging Standard port for Tesla Superchargers without an adapter. Electrek gives the 35-minute figure for the lineup as a whole, and the reports reviewed do not list a separate time for the Premium trim’s smaller 76.96 kWh pack.
Inside, Lexus’s May release describes a three-row layout with second-row captain’s chairs, power ottomans on the front passenger and second-row seats, and heated and ventilated seats in several positions. Electrek adds a 14-inch touchscreen running the Lexus Interface system, with customizable widgets, a voice assistant and full-screen navigation on the digital cluster. The release does not state the total seat count, so how the third row is arranged is not stated in the reports reviewed.
Where the TZ Sits in the Market and When It Arrives
Electrek describes the TZ as the largest, most luxurious Lexus electric SUV to date, at 200.8 inches long, 78.3 inches wide and 67.1 inches tall on a 120.1-inch wheelbase, roughly the size of the Hyundai Ioniq 9 and Volvo EX90. AutoGuide names the Kia EV9 and Hyundai Ioniq 9 as mainstream rivals and the Cadillac Vistiq and Volvo EX90 as luxury ones. It adds that the TZ is the first model on Toyota’s dedicated three-row EV architecture to reach U.S. showrooms, ahead of the delayed Toyota Highlander EV and Subaru Getaway.
The timeline matters for the dates. The pricing was not new on Oct. 21. Lexus Enthusiast reported the three trim prices and the live online configurator on Sept. 18, noting that Lexus is moving quickly on the all-new, all-electric TZ, and Electrek’s Oct. 21 story repeated and expanded on them. Lexus’s May 6 press release first set out the same three prices and the two battery sizes, and cited a manufacturer-estimated range of 300 miles on a select grade. The 315-mile figure on the current model page supersedes that earlier round number for the Touring trim.
Sales begin in the United States by the end of 2026, according to Electrek, and in Europe in early 2027. Electrek reports a Netherlands starting price of 79,995 euros for the Standard Range version, including a limited-time 4,000-euro discount, with a WLTP range of up to 280 miles for that version and up to 338 miles for the Long Range variants, and a Spain starting price of 88,000 euros. European buyers see higher sticker prices than American ones.
This article was produced with the assistance of AI and reviewed by Morning Overview editors prior to publication.
Save more, waste less: Subscribe to The Cool Down →
We may earn a commission if you sign up.
More from Morning Overview
- Common allergy, bladder and sleep pills tied to sharply higher dementia odds
- NOAA now gives this winter a 75% chance of the strongest El Nino since 1950
- Doctors warn a silent liver disease now affects one in three American adults
- The FBI told the rest of ShinyHunters to surrender after a 24-year-old was arrested